astrology

Jupiter pops off into Scorpio

NOTE: this post is late.. but eff it.

So, Jupiter‘s ingress into Scorpio… Yeah, yeah I know it happened 29 days ago, but I’ve been thinking about it for most of the year now.  It’s a Jupiter Return for me, and I’ve been crediting a lot of my good luck to that fact.

Anytime a planetary return happens to us, Astrologers get all excited. Why? Because it means that planet has come full circle to the exact place it was when you were born. Obviously the outer planets won’t ever come back to the same place before a person’s life ends, but as far as the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter & Saturn, we get the pleasure (or pain) of experiencing this “homecoming” energy.

37Jupiter is the planet of good luck, expansion, higher learning, generosity and general benevolence. He’s the big boy of the Milky Way, and I like to think of Jupiter as The Ghost of Christmas Present, from Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol.

He’s a jolly giant, celebrating lavishly and bestowing gifts. He’s like Father Time’s happier, drunken brother (or son, if you want to be more accurate per the Greek Myth of Zeus and Chronos)

I mean, who doesn’t want to party with Jupiter? 😉

He’s also wise, and gives Scrooge insight. He shows the miser the joy, warmth and happiness of togetherness and community.

Needless to say, I’ve been excited to see what gifts Jupiter will bring me this year!

The_Notorious_B.I.G
Biggie Smalls: A Scorpionic Jupiter?

But what happens when all this goodness goes into Scorpio, the sign of death, sex, money and transformation?

Does Father Christmas turn into The Notorious B.I.G.?

I finally come to the conclusion that this could mean major empowerment.  Scorpio is also about power. Jupiter is growth. And since true empowerment comes from facing your fears, your weaknesses and going through that discomfort, I can’t imagine a more Scorpionic experience.

 

As far as my own empowerment, I’ve obviously been experiencing the events of the past 10 months, with Trump entering the White House, Black Lives Matter movement, White Supremacy in Charlottesville, Standing Rock protests, the removal of Confederate Statues and NFL players kneeling in solidarity to protest police violence against black American citizens.

For the record, during this time, I’ve felt pretty “woke” about racism in our country, and supporting efforts to eliminate that, but I still hadn’t really acknowledged my own white privilege, nor was I willing to call out my friends and family who claimed they weren’t racist, but still made comments on how “Slavery was over” and “they need to stop living in the past”.. basically criticizing how people of color were protesting in our country.

eef7b9e8ed251cbca7785c924dbc2f3e--all-lives-matter-black-lives-matter

So really, me being “woke” was meaningless. I was still silent.

What we all need to do is take our woke whiteness and put that shit in the gas tank.  Throw it on the fire. Get all up in our Caucasian homies’ privileged little lives.  Scorpio doesn’t FUCK around. None of this half-assed spiritual bypassing.

We like the light but not the heat, doing whatever we can to distance ourselves from the flames.

Looking at Rapper Cardi B’s recent success as she finished up her own Jupiter Return in Libra, she made the comment “I just feel so powerful.”  Yes girl, YASSSSS. The rest of us will get there too…

….once we put in the work. Once the secrets are revealed, the dirt dug up, our priorities re-evaluated. Is this really true? Is it helping our world? Is it hurting our world? What can we do to change it? It will involve pulling the wool off our eyes, removing the rose-colored goggles to see humanity for what it is.

I write this as I listen to Cardi’s B’s song Red Barz,  Rap is a genre full of Scorpionic themes : Sex, other people’s money, and the acquiring of respect and power.

So be real. Be empowered. Be Jupiter in Scorpio.

Leave a Reply

