Skip to content

Paperwork

August 4, 2010

I had a dream last night that I was squeezing lemons into a gigantic 10 gallon bucket. I stayed up all night doing it. By morning my hands were raw and the bucket was full of juice. I then proceeded to take the entire bucket and pour it over my head.

Today at work I sat with 40 other Admin assistants and listened to policies and procedures for the 2010-2011 academic year. I looked around : Mostly 40-50 something women with tight, pinched expressions on their wilted faces. They looked as if they were enjoying the seminar as a much as they enjoyed using tampons. My instinct was to tell a joke in that situation, but I honestly didn’t think these women were capable of smiling.

After flipping through the handout paperwork, I went back to my desk, where I handed paperwork to incoming freshman. I accepted financial aid paperwork from students, and filed paperwork in my desk. I entered data from tour sheet paperwork, and printed paperwork for the following day’s tours.

I then went home and filled out more paper for my custody hearing, mailed paperwork to the courts, and copied child support paperwork for social services. I looked over preschool paperwork for LB, and opened mail full of  paperwork bills.

I’m so done with it. My job AND my life can’t revolve around paperwork. I can’t end up like those women I saw today. I hope to God they weren’t saying the same thing when they were my age. It’s all too sad to think about.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 7:39 am

    In a couple of years, when I finish up my AAS, you should totally help me run my daycare. ^^

    Like

  2. August 5, 2010 9:30 am

    At least you didn’t have any lemon juice in paper cuts from that paper overload.
    You won’t end up like them. I’m sure of it. My hope is that you’ll end up out here, living a glamorous life hard-earned with your writing. Your journey has already taken so many unexpected twists and turns, and your spirit endures and grows stronger.

    Like

  3. August 5, 2010 10:17 am

    Wow. That dream is interesting.

    Just remember to find something to smile about, mmmkay?

    Like

  4. August 5, 2010 9:58 pm

    This is why I haven’t checked my mail all week. Really.

    Like

Leave a Reply

