The Foolish Traveler

I’ve talked a lot about setting limits, saying no, and finding my backbone this year, which for a Pisces is probably one of the biggest things we have to learn in life. The following story is a little out there, but I as always, I continue find my inspiration in the weirdest, cheesiest places.

That’s why you love me, right?

My high school Bestie and one of the  3 Leo friends, Jiji, can always be counted on to provide the latest in Anime entertainment. Over the last 10 years, we’ve spent countless hours reading subtitles, attempting to decipher ridiculously complicated Japanese story lines, and claiming allegiance to our favorite nerdy shows. I have the honor of introducing Jiji to Astrology and she has the honor of getting me hooked on Japanimation marketed towards 8th grade girls.

Last week, my chum brought over a new series.

“You are going to LOVE this one. It’s all about the Chinese Zodiac AND it has a kick ass single mom character,” she said.

Word.  Hooked me at hello.

In typical Anime fashion, the storyline is lighthearted and silly 95% of the time, then suddenly goes to the dark side with a twisted turn of events. When the following story came onscreen, I was immediately struck by the Piscean themes. It really shook me, honestly.

Here’s the clip. If you can bear with me,  tell me what you think.

After watching this, I thought about how far I’ve gone in my life, giving things up for other people. How much of my own needs I’ve sacrificed. Would I have gone as far as the foolish traveler? I think I would have.

I felt such sadness and anger after watching this. I looked at Jiji and said, ” well, that was fucked up!”

Even if he was generous, kind and utterly selfless,  I don’t want to be that foolish traveler anymore.  😦

13 thoughts on “The Foolish Traveler

  1. As a Pisces, I can totally see where you are coming from about the Pisces theme of this story. It definitely resonates with me, especially my current situation.

    I don’t want to be that foolish traveler anymore either, I want to find the balance between my generous and selfless nature with healthy limit settings, back bone and saying no.

    Thanks for sharing! This is why I love you, you find inspiration in many places, in in turn inspire me!

    Like

  2. The first step in changing is acknowlegement! No one has to be foolish. I’m not a Pisces, but this Aquarian can quite foolish from time to time.

    Like

  3. I too find inspiration in the cheesy, or receive the perfect words from a children’s book, and lots of other places…but I don’t believe in the whole astrology thing much. Whatever works for you, whatever it is that makes you recognize yourself and take steps to change that, is a good thing.

    Like

  4. *sigh* I’m a little annoyed by the clip because it encourages that all or nothing philosophy, and you know how I feel about that! There’s no other way to look at the traveler than as a fool, and the ending of the clip was disappointing.

    Like

  5. Hooray for banishing the foolish and finding inspiration in the cheesey! Things would be tres boring if revelations arrived in the norm…

    Like

  6. Figuratively I have gone as far as the foolish traveler. And the creepiest part about that clip (which I love by the way) – is like him – I was still smiling. In fact, I was happy to give so much of myself and more. Not just happy in some type of codependent “I love to be needed” type of way – but genuinely happy to give everything I could.

    Like

    1. Wow Elly,

      I am going to write a post about this, for sure. I’ve been in a funk lately, and I am trying to get myself out of it. I have a story about exactly this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

