Skip to content

Nice

June 26, 2009

Blondie called me this week. Its the first time she’s ever contacted me on her own. She wanted to know LB”s test results for Whooping Cough, then proceeded to ramble on about this “outbreak” in La Plata County that is currently under investigation by the federal government. Uh…yeah, she’s all about conspiracy theory. Remember her thoughts on the Swine Flu? Its sad , but I think some people can’t function normally without being constantly surrounded by chaos, stress and general panic.

I was reasonably cordial to her, considering what her daughter told me 6 weeks ago. I don’t know if her calling me was genuine concern for LB’s well-being,  morbid curiosity, or an attempt to sweet talk me into letting her become LB’s “daycare provider”. Let’s hope it’s option 1. Because I’m enrolling her at the new place, starting next Wednesday. I still have decision-making control (after attempted mutual agreement), and in a time-sensitive situation, I always have the final say.

Saw High School Sweetheart last night while grabbing tacos for dinner. He’s moving to my neighborhood, and got promoted to a regular 9-5 job. We’ve had a total of 3 uh…meetings/Get-togethers/Afternoon Beers since our intital coffee date. We still continue to Facebook and text each other, and its been nice having a guy friend in my life again. LB was her usual Gemini self, only x 100 due to the Jarritos sugar high she was on.

He said, “Well she’s about as cute as a button.”

 “Thanks! I made her myself,” I said.

“I don’t really know about kids, but she seems like she talks a lot for her age.”

"Don't be too nice to me, Ok? It makes me nervous."

“Well, she’s an only child, so I really have nothing to compare it to, but  people always ask me that. Plus, she’s a Gemini.”

He laughed. At that point, LB was using my arm as trapeze, so we said our parking lot goodbyes.

I really don’t know any other way to describe it, except for…..nice. I’ve never had strong feelings towards that word. It always seemed a little boring, or blasé. Who wants to be described as “nice” when you can be exhilarating, intelligent, fabulous or wildly entertaining? Now I think “nice” might be a good word to add to my life, especially when it comes to men.

What do you think?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2009 10:10 am

    I think Nice is a lovely word, I truly do. 🙂

    Like

  2. abrookshire permalink
    June 26, 2009 10:43 am

    I agree, nice is a good thing. In my younger days, I’ll admit, nice was boring and–you said it best–blasé, but now…..nice is a good thing.

    Like

  3. Carlie permalink
    June 26, 2009 12:00 pm

    I like nice. Nice doesn’t have to mean boring, or passionless. But there’s something to be said for courtesy, respect, gentleness… All of which are “nice” qualities. I think there comes a time in every woman’s life when she discovers that “nice” is a word that she shouldn’t be ashamed to apply to her life, especially when it comes to men.

    Like

  4. June 26, 2009 1:55 pm

    Yeah sometimes “nice” means all good things. Like stable. Kind. Less filled with drama.

    Uh huh. As I approach 40, nice is VERY good.

    Like

  5. Lauren permalink
    June 26, 2009 4:42 pm

    Nice if definitely good! That’s exactly how I felt after my first few times hanging out with The Yooper 🙂

    Like

  6. laurakim permalink
    June 27, 2009 10:35 am

    We were never allowed to use the word nice in our English class at school and I still try avoid it now but sometimes things are just nice!

    Like

    • June 27, 2009 3:20 pm

      Maybe that’s why I feel apathetic towards the word…Many a creative writing teacher used to say “Can’t you think of a more descriptive word than ‘nice’?” Gotta love the things that stay with you.

      Like

  7. June 27, 2009 3:07 pm

    I think nice is a good word to describe the situation. You guys have been friends for a long time. It’s not like your dating again, you just have a nice arrangement where you can see each other once in awhile and you get to have a positive male influence. Besides, he really is a nice guy =D

    Like

  8. June 28, 2009 6:49 pm

    To agree with ALOT of your other readers….NICE is good. To me it means a calm, happy, stable life with a good man who you can rely on & who supports you. THen again I might be crazy, you know who I married! LOL My life is nice now, happier than I’ve been in a long time living it quietly & our own way! Nice is a life-long romance with a friend & lover!

    Like

  9. QTMama permalink
    June 29, 2009 10:41 am

    Yeah nice is a … nice word but … I can’t help but think it’s also another word for boring. Or lame. But that’s just me and I’m kinda digging the fact that I can’t remember the last time someone called me nice. YAY! *grin*

    Like

  10. June 29, 2009 11:22 am

    I like nice. There’s a certain calm and peace to it; simple can be good.

    Like

  11. June 29, 2009 2:09 pm

    Hello! I thought I would stop by since I too am in Colorado. I used to live in Ouray, so I know how your town works quite well. It brings back some fond memories. So Hello to you!

    Like

  12. Shiona permalink
    June 30, 2009 3:26 am

    It is pretty interesting how a word and its meaning changes. It is pretty great to have a guy friend to talk to as well.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Cost of Living

Leave a Reply

