single mom

Dreams: Snake Fight

I dreamed that a big group of my friends were all out camping in the desert somewhere. We were gathered in a circle and in the middle were two rattlesnakes fighting. A bunch of the guys I was with were cheering and egging the two snakes on, when all of a sudden, my sister burst through the crowd and tries to break up the snake fight.

People immediately start screaming and trying to stop her from interfering with the attacking snakes. During the chaos, one snake manages to bite the other’s head off, but is swallowed by the other before it dies. Its a bloody, gory mess, ending up with two headless snakes attached as one.

Here’s what I found regarding dreams & symbolism:

Snake
The snake may be seen as phallic and thus symbolize temptation, dangerous and forbidden sexuality. If you are afraid of the snake, then it signifies your fears of sex, intimacy or commitment. The snake may also refer to a person around you who is callous, ruthless, and can’t be trusted. As a positive symbol, snakes represent healing, transformation, knowledge and wisdom. It is indicative of self-renewal and positive changesdreammoods.com

Ever hear of the Greek word Ouroboros? That’s about as close as I could find to snakes devouring each other:

The Ouroboros often represents self-reflexivity or cyclicality, especially in the sense of something constantly re-creating itself, the eternal return, and other things perceived as cycles that begin anew as soon as they end– Wikipedia

Interpretation #1: If snakes represent phallic objects, then its pretty funny that my gay sister had such a problem with them. Taking the whole homoerotic theme even further, the fact that TWO phallic objects were attacking each other is even more hilarious. Maybe my brain is telling me that my sister was attempting to play peacemaker between two gay guys.

Interpretation #2 Maybe my sister was the hero, trying to stop the violent objectification of two gays while a bunch of goading, taunting straight people were getting pleasure out of watching them kill each other.

Interpretation #3 I’m witnessing the positive rebirth and renewal of my sexual self, even if its a scary, intimidating world.

The full moon was on Sunday.

You’ll face a choice under this Moon to go toward evolution or back to the past. Choose evolution. Choose evolution by noting your patterns and accepting or rejecting them.- Anne Ortelee

Were your dreams as crazy as mine?

9 thoughts on “Dreams: Snake Fight”

  1. I’m pretty sure I’d want to anylize that one too! Whoa.

    My dreams can be very vivid sometimes and realistic. I’ve been dreaming a lot about exes lately. And sex. Go figure.

    Like

  2. I would be willing to place money on #3 being the correct interpretation, but what do I know? All I know is that had I dreamed of snakes, I likely would not have slept long. My dreams have been a little odd and my sleep restless lately; must be something in the air.

    Like

  3. I haven’t been able to remember my dreams lately. Maybe that means I’m not getting enough sleep…

    I’ll email you about the “awkward situation” that I keep referring to. It’s not a big secret, but people read my blog that know the guy, so it’s better that I not go into details on there.

    Like

  4. Dude, I had a dream about a snake last night!! (cue Twilight Zone music) I dreamt that this crazy looking snake was trying to attack me. I stepped on it’s head and it was gurgling and snarling and making these horrible noises and I just started yelling at it and saying “Hell no, you aren’t going to get me you little bastard” It was really strange, but I think I know what it represents in my life. I don’t think it was about sex, I think it was about a certain callous person.

    “You’ll face a choice under this Moon to go toward evolution or back to the past. Choose evolution. Choose evolution by noting your patterns and accepting or rejecting them.- Anne Ortelee”

    That quote is great, and I think my dream was signalling that too.

    Like

  5. That last quote couldn’t be more representative of what’s going on in my life right now with that guy I keep blogging about. The way we act around each other is much different than how I’ve been with other guys, and sometimes I do feel myself wanting to revert back to the way I’ve acted in the past with other men.

    Like

  6. WOW that interpretation of snakes is so interesting! I used to dream of snakes often and I am petrified of them so was like nightmares!

    Which makes sense then in terms of fear of commitment for me 🙂

    Dreams fascinate me – lol – the one I had last night was amazing! A chinese army was chasing me!

    Like

  7. What is e meaning when you dream a small snakes scattered at the ground ,,then I saw two snake fighting each other the small and the big one then the big snake swallow the small snake after that the venom of the snake spread in my right arm and I wipe it vastly please answer me anyone thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

