2nd Anniversary

My blog is officially 2 years old todayballoons.

This was my very first post, which inspired the name of my blog. It was originally intended to document my journey from homeless, daycare-less, unemployed single mom to….well….at that point I really had no clue.

Then I moved into my first apartment as as single mom. For about 16 months, my blog consisted mostly of my chronicles of living in in the “projects”

Then I found my first three single mom blogs. After that, I was hooked. I searched out every single mom blog I could find, adding them to my links so I would be able to keep up on all of their lives.

Then there were the custody battles, the court drama, the creation of “Roofie” which overtook my blogging mind for almost a year.  Between Egg donations, giving speeches, Head Start wars, potty training, moving, visitation and changing jobs, I started to worry that if I wasn’t in the middle of some crisis I wouldn’t have anything to write about.

I’m happy to say that 2 years after the birth of this blog, I’m financially sound, living independently, have custody of my daughter and am more empowered & confident than I have ever been in my life. 

Blogs have been criticized for being self-indulgent, self-important, narcissistic ego-trips. For me, it was a tool for self esteem. Due to my self-deprecating Piscean personality, I doubt I would have given myself much credit for the events that have transpired over the last 2 years. Without this blog, I would never have appreciated how much I’ve grown, and how far I’ve come as a mom and a human being. Documenting has allowed me to compare, reflect and view myself in a meaningful way. It also has connected me to some amazing people andunforseen opportunities.

Wow, I really didn’t mean to give a speech, but thank you to all the bloggers who have inspired me and my fellow single moms who are rockin’ the parenting world alone, every day.

15 thoughts on “2nd Anniversary

  1. I can’t believe it’s already been 2 years! And I remember being one of your first single mom blogs because it was just a month or so after I started blogging that you linked to me. I felt really loved 🙂

    You have done so much and come such a long way — I’m so proud of you! Your blog has definitely given strength to so many other single moms out there.

    Like

  2. I couldn’t agree more with Lauren, your blog is so inspiring and full of wisdom. And it’s honest, fun and exciting to read. 🙂 Hugs sweetie, you made it!

    Like

  3. Happy Anniversary! Thank you for opening your heart and so eloquently describing your life for all of us to read. Your blog has given me strength. I remember when I first started mine and found you, the Pisces and how happy I was that a fellow Pisces single mom was out there with similar ex drama. Like Lauren said, I felt great when you linked me. Thank you, and to many more years of blogging!

    Like

  4. Thanks for staying on top of your blog….amongst the chaos of being a single mom. It’s really starting to help me…I just started and get caught up in everyday life that I barely have time to write but I’m trying to make it a priority. Reading your blog…and other single mom’s blogs gives me hope and encouragement that I’m not the only single mom out there! PHEW! 🙂 Happy anniversary

    Like

  5. I am so proud of you: “I’m happy to say that 2 years after the birth of this blog, I’m financially sound, living independently, have custody of my daughter and am more empowered & confident than I have ever been in my life. ”

    And full heartedly believe in this:”Without this blog, I would never have appreciated how much I’ve grown, and how far I’ve come as a mom and a human being. Documenting has allowed me to compare, reflect and view myself in a meaningful way. It also has connected me to some amazing people and unforseen opportunities.’

    Thank you for all the inspiration and strength you give single moms…and for the friendship you have brought us all too.

    YEAH!! Happy 2nd Bday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

