Spot

You all remember “Spot” right?

Click here to or Here  refresh your memory.

Its kind of a running joke between us, the whole “Spot” thing. He actually signs her daily sheets with “Spot” instead of his real name. He’s been LB’s teacher at her daycare for almost a year now. She runs to hug him in the morning. Every week he shows me pictures and tells me funny stories about her. She talks about him on the weekend. Monday is her favorite day because she goes back to see him. Did I mention he’s really cute and I have a minor crush on his uncanny nurturing manliness?

He was fired today. “Spot” is gone.

I’m so upset on so many levels, I don’t know how to express it.

I made an utter fool of myself, sobbing on the phone to the Head Start Central office, asking them how they can justify firing someone who has never been late once in their entire career, except for this one day when his alarm didn’t go off? I blubbered that I’m a single mom and my daughter doesn’t have a lot of positive male role models, so this man was extremely important to her, let alone the rest of the kids.

They flatly told me that they have  a zero tolerance policy on “AWOL” employees. I told them I’m filing a complaint with the Board to have that policy changed and “Spot” reinstated.

I know I don’t need more stress in my life, but this is just WRONG. I have to do something. My daughter is losing a very important person in her life. “Spot’s” losing a job he loves.  Its making me sick and angry, but mostly, sad. Very sad.

15 thoughts on “Spot

  1. That’s exactly how I felt when we lost the Principal at KIPP. And why I think there’s way too much emphasis put on finding male role models for our kids. Of course, it’s ideal when we have them – and heartbreaking when we lose them. But we have much less control over the concept than our culture would like us to believe. All you can do at this point is let LB know that you understand her loss, and it’s perfectly okay for BOTH of you to be sad about it.

    Like

  2. You’re kind of amazing, you know that? It seems as though your plate is always full to overflowing, but you’re still willing to fight for someone else in need. We’re keeping our fingers crossed over here that “Spot” gets his job back, because there is certainly a shortage of good, strong male role models in this world, and it’s highly unfair that he got the boot on a first offense. Haven’t any of them ever overslept an alarm before…it happens…it’s not *that* big of a deal.

    Keep up the strong work, Hanna.

    Like

  3. Ugh…I love Spot, he seems like such a great guy and wonderful influence. I hope that he can get reinstated for both you and LB’s sake. I totally agree with Anna…you amaze me with your strength and caring every day.

    Like

  4. That really sucks. For him, you, and LB. I can’t believe they would fire him for oversleeping one time. That’s crazy. (I would have been fired years ago.) If someone is a good worker, it seems like they would overlook it this once. Even strict factories (I’ve never worked in one, but I know many people who have. Lots of factories around here.) have a point system. You lose points for being late, but they don’t fire you until you lose all your points.

    I’m sorry for you guys. I hope he gets his job back. It really sucks.

    Like

  5. I think there’s more to the story here. They may have a strict no AWOL policy, but “strict” usually means “when we want to be strict.” I say that based on the fact that every ECE provider I ever talked with in Dgo complained about how hard it was to find really good people to work for the pittance they can pay, especially Head Start.
    I love that you’re fighting it, but please don’t invest too much of yourself or your hope for your daughter into this. You’ve got bigger battles, and Spot’s a big boy. He can tackle this one. You can’t save everyone.

    Like

  6. Man so not cool! There is a need for positive male role models. That rule seems AWFULLY strict. I’m sorry to hear Spot is gone, hopefully he will find a much better situation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

