hippies, hippy

My Tribe

Victor’s father was the perfect hippie, because all hippies were tryin’ to be Indians anyway.

-Thomas, Smoke Signals

This is one of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite authors in one of my favorite movies, so really its like a Superquote to me. I relate to it, because its true. I will post about my embarrassing “romanticised Indian culture” phase one day, because its actually pretty hilarious. Jiji was the first real Indian I ever met, so she got to witness my pathetic ignorance first hand.

I publicly exposed my family history today on Rocky Mountain Moms Blog. I hope they’re not too pissed, because I love them and their dirty hippie ways dearly. Even though they were directly responsible for allowing me to pursue frivolous hobbies such as tarot card reading, astrology and numerology studying, watercolor-painting, Shakespeare-reading and basket-weaving, I owe them for a very interesting childhood.

If you would like a glimpse, read it here.

3 thoughts on “My Tribe”

  1. Hehe sounds like an interesting movie. I love those kind of movies, just can’t find the time or the means to watch them. Hopefully a Netflix account is in my future.

    Like

  2. Toughest Indian in the World– Saint Junior. Oh, how I love Roman and Grace. Your favorite author is my favorite author, too. Yay. Dammit, now I want to hang out with you and talk about books and crap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

