Daycare knows best

I went to pick up LB after work, and noticed that the signature on Tuesday was not Rooferman’s. Guess who is now picking up my daughter for her boyfriend? Yeah, Blondie.

I pointed out to the daycare employees that she is not on the authorized pick-up list. They informed me that LB’s dad had come in and told them he has a legal right to make his own pick-up list. Obviously he put Bimbo Blondie’s name on it.

 Blondie obviously has educated Rooferman on his legal rights. The legal rights that he never showed any interest in until he met her. What a coincidence. Really, what is she getting out of being his cheerleader/maid/nanny/cook/attorney/brain?

I left the daycare center, fuming. One of LB’s teachers stopped me outside and apologized for the situation. I told her it wasn’t her fault, legally I have to let any idiot Rooferman deems worthy pick up my daughter on his days. Just another thing I have to get used to as a single mother. The teacher said, “I know, but personally I think its BS. I would be just as angry as you are right now.”

Blondie and Rooferman can play their little games. The daycare people know who takes care of LB. They know I’m the one who comes to the parent meetings, and volunteers in the classroom. Its my name on the check they receive every month. They know who to credit LB’s bubbling personality to. They got my back.

I asked “Spot” (LB’s male teacher) when I had to start looking for a new daycare. He gave me a look of horror.

“She’s the youngest one in the classroom! Why would you start looking for another daycare?

I told him that yes, she will be turning 3 this summer and didn’t I need to move her to a pre-school class next? Spot shook his head and said, “Oh we’ll just start lying about her age at that point so she can stay in our class. We’ll fake a birth certificate if we have to.”

Kinda warms your heart when someone else loves your kid, doesn’t it? Its definitely not helping my crush on him either.

15 thoughts on “Daycare knows best

  1. I remember I used to be annoyed when DB would show up at daycare. I’m like since you’re there go take him home, assclown. Anyhow it’s great that they understand. Goodness, some people.

    Like

  2. I know I’ve said this before, but sometimes I am SO glad that Anna’s dad doesn’t live near me (and I think he just got a girlfriend too, which makes me even more appreciative of us living so far apart).

    You are so incredibly strong for being able to deal with Rooferman and company so well!

    Like

  3. OOHH I didnt realise there was a crush on the teacher 🙂 Maybe he has a crush back and thats behind him wanting to keep LB :-p

    Glad he cares about her though!!

    My ex has fetched the kids once and both times the school phoned me – even though he is on the list!!

    Like

  4. I’d be pissed off too…one of the things that’s in our papers (assuming they ever get signed) is that no one else can do the “swap” unless we both agree to it in advance. I forget exactly how it’s worded, but it’s pretty clear that if he’s supposed to pick them up from school, it has to be him (not his mom, girlfriend, roommate, etc.) The way it’s laid out makes it so that on regular days, anyone I designate can pick them up, it’s only when we’re actually doing the trade-off that it matters. I’d still check with your lawyer though and see if there’s anything you can do. In the grand scheme of things, I guess it’s not really THAT big a deal if the bimbo picks her up since she’s going to be around her anyway, but if it’s Blondie now, who’s next?

    Like

  5. You would think the school would have mentioned it to you at least, so you knew what was going on. I would have been mad too.

    And it’s awesome to know that the teachers love your kid. Nothing better.

    Like

  6. I am right there with you. I would hope that B would be smart enough not to let Crazy pick up our kids anywhere but who knows. LIke you, he showed no interest in his kids until Crazy came into the picture and realized she had the perfect way to get even with me by using the kids.

    One thing about single parents….you can bend us but we will not break.

    I read this…maybe on your blog or one of the other ones I read (who ever it was, I apologize in advance for not giving you credit) and it makes all this crap easier to deal with “I love my kids more than I hate him (and any other crazy people he comes with).

    As long as I remember that, I can deal with the rest of it

    Like

  7. I’m really surprised the school didn’t mention it as well. To at least let you know what was up. I like Spot more every day; what an awesome guy!

    Like

  8. I’m not entirely sure that’s correct if you have sole custody. But I don’t really know. I would talk to your attorney and have him draft something into your parenting plan that says only Rooferman is allowed to do it and make sure the daycare has a copy. I know my daycare wouldn’t let the N-Man go with anyone who isn’t on the list, Period. They’re really anal about that stuff.

    I’m sorry you’re dealing with that. 😦

    Like

  9. i miss boo’s preschool because it is so nice to see teacher’s loving on your kids.

    even though we didn’t have a custody agreement, when i told her preschool what was going on. the director and assistant director told me, they’d never let the girls go off with him.

    ahhh, the days go on with a never ending parade of surprises.

    now with both of them in school they are dropped off here each and everyday, so that is soooo much better.

    Like

  10. WHAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would have hit the roof! Maybe he has a ‘right’ to make his own list but you should still be consulted about it being the primary caregiver…..I would be cracking heads!

    …..and yep, you gotta luv when someone adores your kid like you do.. 🙂

    Like

  11. If you have sole custody at this point then you DO have the legal right to prevent her from picking up your child. Also-actually, I am going to email you some stuff if that is okay? There will be attachments, so let me know if you can’t open them or don’t WANT to open. They are from an attorney pal of mine so at least are guaranteed virus free! 🙂 I love spot, too, and I don’t even know him!

    Like

Leave a Reply

