court, custody, deadbeat dad, gemini, single mom, toddler

Suspicions Confirmed

At about 7:15 last night, I thought my Rooferman theories were about to be disproved. I hadn’t received a phone call, offering to drive LB home, so I headed on over to Blondie’s house as usual.

No truck in the driveway. No lights on in the house. There was a maroon Suburban sitting outside, but I’ve never seen it before. I knocked on the door, thinking maybe Rooferman’s truck was in the shop or something. Yeah right. No one answered.

Called Rooferman twice. Finally he picked up.

“Where are you?” I demanded.

“What time is it?”

“7:35 you moron.”

“No way! Sorry I didn’t realize it was so late!”

“WHERE ARE YOU?!”

“Uh, out by your area.”

“Well I’ll be home in 15 minutes. Be there.”

I hung up and sped through the construction zone. Rooferman’s diesel truck was sitting outside my apartment complex. He passed LB off to me and apologized again.

“So what’s going on?” I said. “Do you even live there anymore?”

He looked shocked, like he couldn’t believe I had figured it out.

“Well, I don’t live there right now….but I will soon.

WTF?? WHAT THE HELL DOES THAT MEAN? I asked him where he was living then, and he said with “a buddy.”

I told him he needs to let me know where he’s taking our daughter on visitation. I also told him Mr. Mediator only had limited amount of time next week and if he didn’t call tomorrow we would NOT get in to see him. I told him it was his responsibility to call, not mine.

Once inside, LB immediately drank 2 glasses of water and asked for some bread. She also was wearing a diaper. She said her foot hurt because “daddy got her in the street” whatever that means. Its so hard doing this with a 2-year-old who can’t really express everything clearly. I’m lucky my daughter talks as well as she does.

I wish this mystery had been solved, but now I have even more questions. Questions that will probably never be answered.

All I can do is document everything and bring it to mediation, where I will ask every question with a 3rd party present. If he bails on that, I will notarize my documentation and bring it to court.

I’m not letting this get to me. The Polar Express is tomorrow and its going to be totally fun. On a side note: My mom wants this for Christmas. Do you think its a scam? Because it would be the perfect hilarious gift.

22 thoughts on “Suspicions Confirmed”

  1. This is looking better and better for your case. Which really is about what’s in the best interest of LB. Ugh.

    Google the game a bit and see if you can find reference of it anywhere else.

    Like

  2. It does make me wonder if Blondie would have been nicer to you now, if she had been around to answer the door.

    And yes, Rooferman isn’t looking so well, at all. I hope things work out the way you want them to, sweets.

    Like

  3. Is it bad that I’m starting to feel sorry for Rooferman? Prbly my codependency talking, but, I mean, wow. He’s a hot mess of issues that need large tissues.

    That game looks like they are in Ohio. If they take your money and don’t give you a game, I’ll personally drive there and kick their arses.

    I SO get you on the two year old that can’t express herself. (In my case, himself) Son is a very good talker too, which adds insult to injury when people say kids bite b/c they can’t communicate well. My kid can hold a 10 minute conversation with you… but he’ll bite your arm right off. What do I do about THAT? Anyway, it’s frustrating not to know what’s going on in their little brains. Do you think that maybe LB ran into the street or something and Rooferman yanked her back and possibly hurt her foot in the process?

    Like

  4. SWM- Sometimes I think that’s why I got involved with him. The whole “Oh he’s just so misunderstood and has so much potential” philosophy was really running through my mind during our entire relationship. Who knows how long I would have stayed with him, hoping for his day of reckoning.

    Like

  5. You called it. Well, I guess she won’t be whispering in his ear at court this way. I’m really sorry about all the drama though, that really sucks. I’m excited about the Polar Express too, it should lots of fun. Love ya!

    Like

  6. I bet LB will love the Polar Express. After my parents divorced my mom never talked bad to me about my dad. But you know what she didn’t have too. He shot himself in the foot many times and I figured out what type of person he really is. Even at age 2 1/2 LB knows.

    Like

  7. Wow sounds like a lot is being revealed indeed. I hope that all goes well with the mediator and just take it a step at a time, given enough rope some end up making gorgeous knots and others end up hanging themselves.

    Take care!

    Like

  8. You know this might count as a change of circumstances that could get his visitations revoked. He needs to have a safe place to take her to during his visits… I wold definitely look into it.

    I know that when my ex and I first split even our very first custody order stated that he must have an appropriate place to bring the girls for his visits.

    Have fun on the Polar Express! We have it here too, but it’s pricey and I haven’t been able to swing it yet.

    Like

  9. Ugh. This sucks. Huggles and stuff.

    We’re holding off on the Polar Express until next year… it’s about a 2 1/2 hour drive. I can’t frigging wait, though. I’d love to go.

    Like

  10. My X’s mommy is going back home to Croatia for a month. Maybe Rooferman can shack up there for a little while and they can all eat bread and KFC 3x a day together!! Good times.

    UGH…. just stand him under a sturdy beam or tree branch and keep giving him that rope.

    Like

  11. Ugh. Just makes me sick. My ex has pulled some shady weird stuff like this, drives me nuts. I don’t understand why Rooferman wouldn’t just tell you he wasn’t living there right now. Well actually I do, its because it makes him look bad. I hope you and LB have a great time tomorrow on the Polar Express! You both deserve it!!!

    Like

  12. Oh wow! Apparently he has gone to new lows. Hopefully going to the Polar Express wil make up for the bad visitation. He definitely has to help himself.

    That game looks pretty cool. Hopefully it’s not a scam.

    Like

  13. Huge hugs, Hanna. Good thing that you seem to have quite a few IQ points on Rooferman. He does appear to be digging a lovely hole for himself. I am as always just floored by your courage and strength. It is so scary when they are too little to really tell us what is going on. Keep the faith, sister.

    Like

  14. Document, baby, document baby.

    I just had my suspicions confirmed that my ex is in jail, but not yet that he is no longer living with his sister. His family’s keeping their lips tight.

    It’s so hard to let her go isn’t it.

    Just be glad she can talk and keep track of everything so that if things get bad you have some kind of proof!

    Peace and Hugs!

    Like

  15. Hey sweets, it’s Marta, I beleive this is my first time posting on your blog but I have been reading for a few weeks now!
    Anyway, all I can really say is that I agree with everyone else, he is really digging a hole for himself. So just keep documenting everything and anything that happens and soon enough things will turn around for u. HUGS!

    Like

  16. I just wanted to say that I can’t even imagine being in the situation you are in. Aside from the legal battle.. just the uncertainty of not being thoroughly sure of where your child is all the time! I would just be completely unable to function if I were in your position, and I truly hope things take a turn for the better soon where LB and her dad are concerned. What a strong woman you are, and what an excellent example you’re setting to raise a strong independent woman. Love your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

