Bitterness

Hey everyone. I woke up every day this week thinking it was Sunday, so now that I’m actually facing returning to work tomorrow, I finally feel normal*.

*Indication number one that you have no life.

There are three posts I really want to write. Obviously, since this has become my new obsession, they will be on some Single Parent media representations I absorbed myself in this week.

  1. A single mom on an Episode of Intervention (yes, I’ve been staying up late watching Youtube again).
  2. The humorous, only slightly offensive, realistic depiction of single parents in the movie About a Boy (which I finally got around to watching, 6 years later).
  3. The extremely complicated, shocking, emotional and right-on performance of Maggie Gyllenhaal as an estranged single mom in SherryBaby.I’ve wanted to write this post for a long time, but the movie is just so damn important to me that I keep f***ing up every attempt to write it.

I also completed my Admin Assistant test for this new job. Did I mention if I get hired I can take one college class a semester for…..well…..free? If I stayed long enough, I could chisel a Master’s Degree out of thin air.

I don’t wanna blog about Rooferman today. As my friend Elly commented, I should try not to be bitter. Even though it feels so good to be bitter. Its like picking a scab. Its dark, its disgusting, what’s not to like?

During my Junior year of college, I lived with Elly’s ex boyfriend, where Henry Rollins  was the God of his idolatry. I forget the quote exactly, but it went something about locking yourself in your room and being the King of Misery and Depression. When someone asks you to go out, you say “Noo!! I can’t! I’m too busy being the everlasting, Almighty Lord of Darkness!” 

  What about that quote from White Oleander?  Where Single Mom Michelle Pfeiffer says “Love humiliates you. Hatred cradles you.”

Yeah, that’s pretty much as bitter as you can get.

I’ll see you all in December.

6 thoughts on “Bitterness

  1. I don’t think it’s bitterness, but genuine hurt and anger. You’ll have your good moments and your bad. Just try not to add guilt to the list of emotions.
    I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving. I know what you mean about it finally being Sunday!

    Like

  2. I have these same feelings myself. Based on all that has happened you can’t help feeling that way.

    Sending good vibes your way. Hope your test results are super impressive.

    I’ve never even seen those movies. Time to catch up…

    Like

  3. I’m getting a little tired of it myself. It started a fight between my mother and I tonight.

    Oh well, am convinced as this is our first December alone, I’m throwing all my energy into focusing on the positive.

    We’ll see.

    Like

  4. I also get told to stop being bitter! I reckon though, after what we have been through, we are entitled to a little bitterness!!!

    I love that Michelle Pfeiffer quote!!!!!

    Will hold thumbs on the test!!

    Like

  5. I think it’s just part of the healing process, ya know? It’s like the hurt comes first, then the anger (bitter), etc. etc.

    One day, you’ll look at Rooferman and think, “Assclown.” I’m sure you do that already but one day you’ll do it without being bitter sweets.

    *hugs*

    Like

Leave a Reply

