Skip to content

Tarantulas & Legal Advice

October 20, 2008

It was absolutely gorgeous this weekend. Good Ole Colorado produced mid-day temps in the 70s and of course dropped below freezing at night. LB and I went on a hike (which I failed to take pictures of) but it was thoroughly enjoyed by both parties. I’m still hiking in my street shoes, which is not entirely smart, but there are so many other things to worry about besides purchasing hiking boots. In a few months I will be wearing nothing but Sorels anyway.

On the way down from the trail, I almost ate s*** trying to avoid stepping on one of these:

LB, who has definitely acquired a fear of spiders in her 27 months, started yelling “GO HOME SPIDER! GO HOME!” while her mommy tried to remain stable under 30+ pounds of backpack/toddler weight.

According to my dad’s hippie friend, North American Tarantulas migrate during this time of year, so its not uncommon to see the fuzzy legged creatures traversing our pristine trail systems. Meanwhile, every Target and Walmart is likewise filling their Halloween shelves with Exaggerated Tarantula-like spiders, which in turn creates a major bedtime freak-out for a certain 2-year-old.

I’ve been successful in assuring LB that “spiders live outside” not in the house. At least this whole encounter didn’t make me out to be a liar, but it sure scared the crap out of both of us.

My meeting with Lawyerdude was good. He actually told me I was “over-prepared”, which is better than being a clueless moron, right? He told me to cut down my 7 pages to 1 page, and talk for 7 minutes tops in front of the judge. He thought my request for Rooferman to attend Love & Logic parenting classes through the Family Center was a good idea, and that Overnights after the age of 3 was reasonable as well. Basically he told me to be clear, concise, know exactly what I’m asking for, and present a solution rather than bash the deadbeat. He, in true “I don’t give a crap about your boo-hoo past” lawyer fashion, told me to cut the BS, but what a relief to know what to expect.

I’m sick of writing long posts, so I’ll save the rest for later. Ugh, I have so much to write.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2008 11:11 am

    Exciting weekend! Can I just add what a great mama you are? You are such an advocate for your little one.

    Thanks for being a role model to parents who are going through something similar.

    Look forward to hearing more.

    Like

  2. October 20, 2008 11:16 am

    Aaaaggh, we dont’ really live that far away from each other-do I have those hairy little bastards here as well? YIKES!

    Like

  3. October 20, 2008 11:42 am

    Spiders I can handle…but not ones with fur. Ewwwww.

    Being over prepared definitely beats not having it together. Sounds like you’re on the right track. Keep us posted!!

    Like

  4. October 20, 2008 11:49 am

    Umm… yikes. I seriously would have freaked out. The one drawback to hiking, the wildlife.

    I’m all for being over prepared. And better for the lawyer to tell you to leave out the past sob story than to piss off the judge.

    Like

  5. QTMama permalink
    October 20, 2008 12:24 pm

    Dude. SERIOUSLY. If I saw one of those spiders and Em was with me? I fear I’d run and leave her there. OMG that’d freak me out. Kudo’s to you for staying calm!

    Like

  6. October 20, 2008 1:06 pm

    Yeah, that would totally freak me out! But I have to admit I’m jealous of the hiking. I live in a smallish town (30,000+ I think), but there is no where close to hike. I miss Washington state and all the hiking there. I would have to drive about an hour to hike here.

    And yay to being over-prepared. It’s better than not knowing what you’re doing. Good job!

    Like

  7. Shiona permalink
    October 20, 2008 4:15 pm

    Ironically spiders are the one thing I’m not afraid of and I really should be. Great to hear that you are over prepared. Definitely better than the alternative. Go get him!

    Like

  8. littlemansmom permalink
    October 20, 2008 7:26 pm

    What a cute little fizzy…..nothing like cuddling a creepy crawly! LOL

    Glad to hear things are going your way with the lawyer thus far…remember these key words…’in the best intrest of the child’ That phrase (and actions pertaining to) was KEY to my winning EVERYTHING with my order. The need for the father to show ‘consistancy’ is also an important word. Good luck honey!!!

    Like

  9. 4joy permalink
    October 20, 2008 8:33 pm

    Whether it’s big hairy spiders, lawyers, courts or ex’s your consistant ability to “remain stable…under the weight” is such an inspiration to the rest of us. LB’s got a great mommy…you go girl!

    Like

  10. laurakim123 permalink
    October 20, 2008 9:50 pm

    EWWWW at that spider!!! TOTAL EWWW!!

    Glad the lawyer dude meeting went well!!!

    Like

  11. October 21, 2008 12:30 am

    I HATE spiders! Hate them, hate them, hate them. And those tarantulas? Glad I don’t live in CO anymore!

    The lawyer-dude’s probably right. And the judge probably won’t give a boo-hoo, either, but lawyer-dude was probably exaggerating about cutting it down to 1, too. Just don’t go past three.

    Like

  12. carrielt permalink
    October 21, 2008 8:11 am

    If I saw a spider that big I would scream and run. Heck I do that with a small spider!

    Glad to hear that lawyerdude is helping. LB is so lucky she has a mom like you!!!!

    Like

  13. stephanie permalink
    November 6, 2008 5:51 am

    where in colorado did you see that tarantula?

    i am trying to determine if they are common in colorado springs in mid-november.

    does anyone know if they are more commonly seen in beginning of mating season or end?

    Like

  14. November 6, 2008 9:21 am

    I live in SW Colorado (high desert/mountain foothills). I don’t know if they have Tarantulas on the Front Range, or if its more of a Southwest thing. I have no clue about the mating season.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Informed « Cost of Living

Leave a Reply

