custody, fear, golden birthday, pisces, single mom

Golden Year = Overcoming fear

Well I did it. I submitted my petition for custody to the courts. The judge is reviewing my case to see if I qualify to have the $212 fee waived. Next its off to serve Rooferman and get the ball rolling. Tomorrow I am sitting in on a custody case, represented by the lawyer who is helping me file Pro Se.

This year is suposed to be my “golden year”. Back in February I wondered if something special were going to happen to me, or if this year was going to be my best year. Maybe deep down I thought some magic force would come down and offer me a plate of happiness. I prayed for 2008 to be a “kinder, gentler year” than 2007. How Pisces of me.

I’m half way through my golden year now, and it hasn’t been easy. Nothing has been gift wrapped and handed to me. 2008 has been brutal in many ways, challenging me and testing my role as a momworkerdaughter, and a basic member of humanity. It has pushed me to be a stronger, smarter and more resilient person. This year has given me pride, courage and faith.

This year, my golden year, I have begun to overcome fear. I have started to love myself. I have taken the power back from those who have used it against me. I have found self-worth. 

I couldn’t ask for a better birthday present.

15 thoughts on “Golden Year = Overcoming fear”

  1. WOW!! That is SO amazing!!

    You getting your groove back baby and isnt it the most amazing feeling!!!!!

    YOU GO GIRL!!

    Good luck with the waiving of the fee!!!

    Like

  2. I feel like I could have written most of this post. I also hoped that this year would be an easy one. It hasn’t been. And yet, I have learned more about myself and how strong I really am. I’m glad you are learning about yourself through everything too.

    Like

  3. That, my dear girl, is the greatest gift of all. The year you took your life back. You will remember this year as that proverbial “fork in the road.” Good for you. There is no turning back now…

    Like

  4. I love your blog and read it every day now. You should seriously think about writing for pay!

    Anyway, I really hope things get better for you. I couldn’t believe it when you talked about the expensive drop in day care. Sometimes when you read someone’s blog, you wish they were in your city so you could help them. (I use to teach preschool and would have watched you daughter for free to help you out).

    It sounds like the pickings are slim in your town as far as dating goes. I would really encourage you to try online dating. That’s how I met my husband. You are a very cute girl (or strong women, whichever you prefer).

    I am sending good vibes your way all the time!

    Like

  5. Congratuations!!!! As daunting as it can be, I think you’ve done the right thing…and we’re here for you every step of the way. 🙂

    As for this year…IMHO….being a ‘stronger, smarter and more resilient person, having pride, courage and faith’ are awesome things to accomplish! Well Done!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

