When MTV was good.

I was scouring VH1’s “Top Music Videos of 2008” and frankly, I wasn’t impressed. I miss epic story-telling music videos of the 90’s, dark/disturbing grunge videos, elaborate dance-sequence videos, Erotic cowboy Madonna videos, happy, filtered, disco-colored pop videos like  Smashmouth, No Doubt & Sugar Ray. I know Music videos are totally eye candy, but is that ALLthey are today? I was bored to tears with watching Jordin Spark’s hair blowing in the wind for 4 minutes, though the Mariah Carey “Touch my Body” video did make me chuckle a bit. I am also embarrassed to say that I liked Britney Spears’ “Piece of Me” video as well, cause of the painfully obvious CGI face/body shots, and when she flips the camera off.

This was my ultimate favorite music video at age 11. I think it had a direct influence on me naming my daughter after a flower. The bumblee bee girl will live on forever! What was your favorite music video when you were and MTV fan? Or are you still watching?

4 thoughts on “When MTV was good.

  1. OK, first, the fact that this video was your favorite at age 11, well, awesome. You officially made me feel old. But I really, REALLY loved this song (and video) when it was out. Whenever I hear it, I go to a happy place.

    Second, we heard this on the radio today (Son and I) and he LOVED hit. He kept trying to sing along. I thought of you, and after what flower you named your daughter. And then I thought if I ever had a daughter, I’d like to name her “Daisy.”

    Like

  2. I knew exactly what video this was as soon as I saw the screen shot! I’m such a child of the late 80’s early 90’s. Yes, I definitely do NOT get music these days. I mean, don’t get me wrong.. I certainly can get into some of it.. but things like the Jonas Brothers and Miley Cyrus.. I mean.. what the heck happened?

    Like

Leave a Reply

